Andrés Iniesta wins Golden Foot 2014

Andres Iniesta Barcelona

Barca’s Andrés Iniesta wins the Golden Foot for 2014. He is the first person to win the award for Barça and Spain. The midfielder received the award ahead of nine other footballers including: Andrea Pirlo, Cristiano Ronaldo, Franck Ribéry, Manuel Neuer, Thiago Silva, Thierry Henry, Touré Yaya, Wayne Rooney, and Marta Vieira Da Silva a female Brazilian footballer.

The Golden Foot award is an international award, given to football (soccer) players who stand out for their athletic achievements (individual and team players) and personality. To be eligible for the award, a players must be at least 28 years of age and an active player. They can only win the award once.

Ten players are initially chosen by a group of international journalists and the winner is chosen by the most votes in an online poll where anyone can vote. All winners leave a mould of their footprints on “The Champions Promenade” in Monaco.

Since the inception of this award in 2003 the winners have been:

[themeum_column col=”1/2″]

  • 2014 Andrés Iniesta
  • 2013 Didier Drogba
  • 2012 Zlatan Ibrahimovic
  • 2011 Ryan Giggs
  • 2010 Francesco Totti
  • 2009 Ronaldinho
  • 2008 Roberto Carlos
  • 2007 Alessandro del Piero
  • 2006 Ronaldo
  • 2005 Andriy Xevtxenko
  • 2004 Pavel Nedved
  • 2003 Roberto Baggio


[themeum_column col=”1/2″]Totti Champions Promenade in Monaco[/themeum_column]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *