Best Player in Europe ten-man shortlist announced

UEFA Best Player in Europe Award

The 2015/16 UEFA Best Player in Europe award has been shortened to a ten-man list. See who made that list and who missed out.

The ranking for this award is determined by journalists from UEFA’s own associations. Each journalist puts forward their five best-ranked players with their first choice receiving 5 points, second with 4 points and so on. EUFA then choose the ten players who received the most points and they advance to the second round vote. From there the list is whittled down to the final three. A jury then vote for the winner who will be announced in Monaco at the 2016/17 UEFA Champions League group stage draw on the 25th of August.

Last year’s winner was Lionel Messi who also won it back in 2011. Other winners include: Cristiano Ronaldo (2014), Franck Ribéry (2013), and Andrés Iniesta (2012).

Best Player in Europe Award top 10

  • Gareth Bale (Real Madrid & Wales)
  • Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus & Italy)
  • Antoine Griezmann (Atlético Madrid & France)
  • Toni Kroos (Real Madrid & Germany)
  • Lionel Messi (Barcelona & Argentina)
  • Thomas Müller (Bayern München & Germany)
  • Manuel Neuer (Bayern München & Germany)
  • Pepe (Real Madrid & Portugal)
  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid & Portugal)
  • Luis Suárez (Barcelona & Uruguay)

Players who missed the top 10

These are the nominees who just missed the top 10 shortlist in order of points. Both Riyad Mahrez and Jamie Vardy both missed the top 10 cut despite leading lowly ranked Leicester City to the Premier League title. This shows how tough the competition was last season. Other notable players who didn’t make the top ten short-list include Neymar, Robert Lewandowski, and Zlatan Ibrahimović.

  1. Riyad Mahrez (Leicester & Algeria)
  2. Jamie Vardy (Leicester & England)
  3. Dimitri Payet (West Ham & France)
  4. Jérôme Boateng (Bayern München & Germany)
  5. Arturo Vidal (Bayern München & Chile)
  6. Luka Modrić (Real Madrid & Croatia)
  7. N’Golo Kanté (Leicester & France)
  8. Zlatan Ibrahimović (Paris Saint-Germain/Manchester United & Sweden)
  9. Eden Hazard (Chelsea & Belgium)
  10. Andrés Iniesta (Barcelona & Spain)
  11. Neymar (Barcelona & Brazil)
  12. Renato Sanches (Benfica/Bayern München & Portugal)
  13. Robert Lewandowski (Bayern München & Poland)
  14. Gonzalo Higuaín (Napoli & Argentina)
  15. Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus & Italy)
  16. Diego Godin (Atlético Madrid & Uruguay)
  17. Will Grigg (Wigan & Northern Ireland)
  18. Hugo Lloris (Tottenham & France)
  19. Paul Pogba (Juventus & France)
  20. Toby Alderweireld (Tottenham & Belgium)
  21. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund & Gabon)
  22. Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City & Belgium)
  23. Kevin Gameiro (Sevilla & France)
  24. Grzegorz Krychowiak (Sevilla/Paris Saint-Germain & Poland)
  25. Blaise Matuidi (Paris Saint-Germain & France)
  26. Georges-Kévin N’Koudou (Marseille & France)
  27. Jan Oblak (Atlético Madrid & Slovenia)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *